2 new IPL Teams for IPL 2022?

IPL 2021, the 14th edition of IPL is around the corner and is about to start in less than a month a buzz that there will be an addition of the two new teams into the league.

According to the sources the news is true and two new teams are going to be part of the IPL from the next season that is IPL 2022(15th edition of IPL)

“The 10 team IPL will roll on from next year and the bidding process and finalisation of the new franchises will be completed by the month of May this year. Once the teams are finalised, they can start their operational work which takes considerable time,” the source said. 

This will make the total number of teams competing in the league reach 10 and this will not be the first time 10 teams competing in the IPL.

Previously, Kochi Tuskers Kerala and Pune Warriors India were part of the 10 team IPL but were terminated later from the league.

Which cities will host the Two New franchises?

According to the sources, the most likely outcome will be Ahmedabad and Lucknow.

Ahmedabad is most likely to be part of IPL considering it has the world’s largest International cricket stadium and the district is also home to more than 7 million people.

Another city that is a Strong Contender for the spot is Pune city, considering it used to have two IPL franchises from the city in the past which were terminated(Rising Pune Supergiants and Pune Warriors India)

5 Strong Contenders for new IPL franchises:

  1. Ahmedabad (Most Likely)
  2. Lucknow (Most Likely)
  3. Pune
  4. Guwahati
  5. Visakhapatnam

What’s more interesting is, the announcement will be made out by BCCI before the finals of IPL 2021 in May 2021 and auctions for the new team will be conducted, which is less than 2 months from now.